Easter in France

The French, like the British do not color Easter eggs.  They have brown eggs and I have not been able to find duck, goose, or other eggs to substitute like I did in England.  Some of the Auchan grocery stores do carry white eggs, but I have only found them in one of the stores.  As for craft stores, Cultura is a good option.  So, I spent sometime on Pinterest to see if I could find something fun.  I was not really finding anything inspiring, so my ADD took me here to write about my quandary in a new post.

Thankfully, I had a great idea and remembered a great department store in the UK that would deliver to France, John Lewis.  They have some cute things that I ordered.  In fact, if you have a crafty kid, they have crafts for nearly every season.  Here is a link.

So, you might be wondering what the French do to celebrate Easter.  I know that I was curious.  You will be relieved to know that they do eat chocolate.  We found chocolate eggs at the store that we will incorporate into out Easter egg hunt this year.  Superhandsome also decided to buy the kids chocolate fish.  I know, I know.  You have to be asking What, a fish, why?  What does a fish have to do with Easter?  Those French people are pretty silly, right?

Honestly, I have no idea what a fish has to do with Easter.  I do know that on April Fool’s Day, they slap a fish sticker on the backs of ‘unsuspecting’ people and yelling “Poisson d’Avril”.  The origins of this tradition are not clear.  Apparently, April 1, used to be the beginning of the new year up to the 16th century.  King Charles IX decided to change it.  Those innovative people who went with the new change started to mock the ones who did not want to change by giving them ‘presents’ and playing tricks on them.  The jokes started to be more common and fake fish were often used in the pranks.  The April fish is a fantastic history lesson that is still usable today.  The fish is a mockery that was stuck on the back of fools who refused to accept changing times, I can think of some US state (Indiana gov Pence) government officials who should be sent some fish right about now, and not the chocolate ones either!

Back to Easter, the French children not only take off Good Friday, but also Easter Monday.  Things are about to get very quiet in France as on Maundy Thursday (Holy Thursday) all the church bells will go silent in remembrance of Jesus’s passing.  It will be strange not to hear the church bells ring.  The neighborhood church bells tell me the time through out the day.  The parents in France tell the children that the bells have gone to Rome to visit the Pope and they will return Easter Sunday morning.  The traditional Easter dinner is typically roasted lamb.  The children do not color eggs, but they do play games with uncooked eggs.  The children also do Easter egg hunts as and there are a few big ones planned near the Eiffel Tower.  There are also some great activities going on in Paris, this website here lists activities in French, so use Google Chrome to translate.  Another website is located here, and one more here.

Happy Easter friends!

Leave a Reply

